Khan Academy

This is our go-to site for practically everything about Math, Grammar, History, and Science. Salman Khan, the founder of Khan Academy, believes that anyone around the world should have FREE access to quality educational materials. This is a non-profit educational organization who produces short lectures in the form of Youtube videos to engage the learner. Their tagline, “You can Learn Anything” has greatly inspired us to name our Homeschool “Growth Mindset Academy”.

I strongly believe in their advocacies and I promote it to my friends who are entertaining to homeschool their children. “Yes, you can teach your kids!” – is my encouragement to parents who feels derailed by the thought of expensive schools and curricula. For everyone who wants to homeschool their kids, please be informed that we have access to world-class education — great thanks to kind-hearted and innovative people like Sal Khan, who believes that Education is a Right, not a privilege.

The website has a user-friendly interface that my kids find very easy to navigate. Below is the screenshot of my son’s Khan Academy account. He finished his 3rd grade Math as early as January(we started Homeschooling June of 2016). He is currently doing 4th Grade Math because he just loves to do it. Moreover, he has accomplished all the Grammar lessons as early as November of last year.

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 2.01.00 AM

This is self-paced learning and I believe that this is perfect for my kids and for every kid in this generation. I don’t push them to do Khan Academy every day – but out of habit, they know that they are to do their Mastery Missions every day and they are so excited looking forward to those badges to unlock every time they achieve a milestone. That kind of discipline that was honed in my kids while doing Khan Academy is something that I am greatly grateful with.  I am very proud of them having that kind of discipline at an early age of 6 and 8 – always hungry for learning.

If I am to write everything about Khan Academy – one blog post is not enough. I would not be too verbose to elude you from boredom. I will, however, leave you with the Youtube videos that have greatly inspired me to use Khan Academy with my kids.

Till then, ‘You can Learn Anything’.

Let’s use video to reinvent education | Salman Khan

Let’s teach for mastery — not test scores | Sal Khan

Khan Academy on the Gates Notes

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

